1 2 3 4 5 next >>

This from TMO's CMSgt (R) Don Sanders ( personal hero of mine) who distributes the TMO newsletter Straight Talk.
Curt Smith
has something to tell us: Hello Sandy, as always, ST was on point.
Recently COMACC visited the AOR and posted below comments on his Twitter regarding our 2T1 Vehicle Operation brothers on his Twitter. Not that is matters, but I fully agree with COMACC. We have several Vehicle Operators here on the staff who has been in the thick of Combat Convoys and they are truly "impressive".

"Spent time with our combat truckers - talk about impressive leadership and professionalism - we are asking a lot of them and they deliver!

11:14 AM Jul 19th via web"

Thanks Curt and Sandy.

The Air Force 2009 Sijan Leadership Award Winners
The Lance P. Sijan award was first presented in 1981. It is named in honor of the first U.S. Air Force Academy graduate to receive the Medal of Honor. Captain Sijan was shot down over Vietnam Nov. 9, 1967, and evaded capture for 45 days despite severe injuries. He later died while in a North Vietnamese prisoner-of-war camp. He posthumously received the Medal of Honor for his heroism.

The senior enlisted recipient is Senior Master Sgt. Jesse Schraner, a vehicle operations superintendent assigned to Hurlburt Field, Fla. While deployed, he led 223 convoy missions in Iraq and Kuwait that safely transported 300,000 tons of supplies over 4 million miles, providing war-making and life-sustaining material to approximately 100,000 war fighters. He also prevented battlefield complacency through hands-on leadership that resulted in no Airmen killed or wounded despite 17 small-arms insurgent attacks.


1 2 3 4 5 next >>